Demon from the Dark By Kresley Cole

From Goodreads.com: A dangerous demon she can’t resist… must unleash both the demon and vampire inside him. When he becomes the nightmare his own people feared, will he lose the woman he craves body and soul?MalkomFor them to survive,

Malkom Slaine: tormented by his sordid past and racked by vampiric hungers, he’s pushed to the brink by the green-eyed beauty under his guard.

A maddening witch he aches to claim…

Carrow Graie: hiding her own sorrows, she lives only for the next party or prank. Until she meets a tortured warrior worth saving.

Trapped together in a savage prison…

Ah finally, I got to read all about my beloved drunken, karoke-singing, youtube sensation, warrior witch, Carrow the Incarcerated.  Carrow has been abducted by a group of radical humans called the Order bent on studying/weaponizing/eradicating immortals.  Their latest goal? Capturing the rare demon/vampire hybrid, or vemon, Malkolm Slaine.   Somehow, the Order knows that Carrow will make excellent bait to lure Malkolm to this plane, so they blackmail her with her newly adopted daughter, Ruby.   Carrow must go to Malkolm’s plane, which is bascially her own personal hell, and somehow trick him into following her home.  But Carrow doesn’t realize that Malkolm’s tragic past has turned him into a solitary, brutish monster who immediately recognizes Carrow as his fated female.  Left with no choice, Carrow must follow Malkolm to his cave, where the two have some serious chemistry…once he bathes of course.   Unfortunatley, Carrow still has to betray Malkolm, leading him back to the prison, where she will be betrayed as well.

The Good:  Well, it’s Kresely Cole.  If you have read the other IAD books, that would be all I needed to say.  But if not, allow me to elaborate.  Kresley Cole writes some of my favorite charcters in the genre.  They are all funny and smart, albeit damaged.  But the damage isn’t dwelled upon, it just makes them who they are.  She seemingly worships one of my favorite movies, Aliens, and references it quite frequently.  Her love scenes are oh so steamy, but never the same.  Her heroes and heroines kick serious ass in the action sequences.  And she makes me laugh out loud at least once every book.  THIS book, had all of those things I have come to expect and there is really too much good to get into here.  I felt that this was more of a transitional book though, with the immortal prison setting up stories for several books to come, much like the Talisman’s Hie did in the beginning of the series.  We get to see Regin (POOR REGIN!!) and her beserker, Sabine’s sister Lanthe, and one of the Lykae twins, Uilleam, plus we are introduced to new categories of immortals we haven’t seen yet! Exciting!  I am so ready for Regin’s book I can’t stand it!!  Oh, and I want to get into how much I heart Malkolm, the big vemon scene-stealer,  but I will discuss shortly.

The Bad: ::wince::  I really don’t like saying anything bad about this series, as it truly is my favorite, but i have to vent about this one little thing.  You see, Carrow and the House of Witches reminds me of me and my girlfriends in college, but with less nudity, so they have always been my favorite cameos in the books.  I knew that Carrow’s book would deal with her becoming more un-Carrow-like, but I was hoping the first bits would be filled with the Carrow/Mari/Regin shenanigans I expect to take place in every book.  I was very, very disappointed to jump right into serious, little girl saving, soul mate finding Carrow.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVED the story of Carrow and Malkolm finding each other and being all damaged and stuff, but I missed the Carrow I had come to know over the past bazillion books.   And then Regin being all serious too!! Sigh…it just wasn’t the same.  But yeah, that’s all I got for the bad.  Here was my fav Carrow moment:

“She surveyed all the tracks scattered over the clearing.  Again, she could make out Malkolm’s prints, but now she saw even lighter boot prints.  Even more demons?

With ten shots of Jack D in her belly, she was convinced that her scientifical mind could read tracks and deduce a corresponding fight.  She was a regular Sacagawea.” 

The Bumpin’ Uglies:  Teeeheee, Malkolm is a naughty little vemon.  He’s all big, and caveman-like and pierced…a  lot!!  Whew…and I thought I was a modern woman! Malkolm Slaine sent me back to the days of lady clubbing (the wooden kind) and I wasn’t even upset about it.  There is this one scene, I think the book calls it Extreme Makeover: Malkolm edition, where there is lots and lots of bathing…in a cave…and they don’t speak the same languages…and mama liked.   And then there was “You Betrayed Me!” angry beach lovin’.  Yummmm.   And then there was the 98% “we’re not done yet! lovin’.  It was awesome.  I heart Malkolm.  Oh, and Carrow was there too.

Rating: 8.5

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KC/Smokinhotbooks
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 00:21:27

    Ohmygod I loved this one soooooooooooo mucho. I’m already online shopping for a WWRD (What Would Ripley Do) bracelet

    Reply

  2. Mandi
    Sep 04, 2010 @ 09:09:15

    I liked this one…I was confused about Regin and group in the prison…but maybe I just missed that from the last book? BUT – I love the twist with the beserker…you know? 🙂 And I agree – we missed out on a lot of the supporting characters in this one….

    This was a solid four for me..I think I liked the previous one a bit better….

    But this is still one of my favorite series!

    Reply

  3. Squeak (@AkChocoholic)
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 11:53:32

    I have not read this series yet and will have to look it up. Thanks for the reveiw you made it sounds very tempting!

    Followed you over from Book Bloggers at GoodReads.

    Dorothy – The Alaskan Bookie
    Blog ~ http://alaskanbookie.blogspot.com/
    Twitter ~ http://twitter.com/AkChocoholic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

