Kindlelicious: The Senior Citizen Revisits Bowen MacRieve

 

 

Soooo…I hurt my back.  More specifically, my sacrum slipped and choked out my poor sciatic nerve.   It wasn’t fun.  I couldn’t move for days.  And worse, I think I did it working in my stupid lab.  Now…I know what you are thinking,  and no, I am not old.  I am 29.333333 not 87.  But for the past week, I have felt ancient.  Or like one of those women on Discovery Health pregnant with quints and trapped in the bed.  I don’t recommend this.  So to take my mind off the ridiculossity and injustice of my situation I decided to go back and read some of my favorite PNR books.   

I started with one of my all-time favs: Wicked Deeds on a Winter’s Night by Kresley Cole.   I adore the Immortals After Dark series, it has not one but TWO of my favorite PNR characters (Bowen and Regin) and book three of the series is IMO the best!   In this installment the widowed but super hot (and member of my Top 5 list) Bowen MacRieve is trying to win the Talisman’s Hie (think Goblet of Fire for Immortals) to bring back his deceased mate.  Mariketa the Awaited is proudly representing the underachieving New Orleans coven in hopes of proving she actually should be “awaited.”  While tracking down artifacts to gain points in the competition, Bowen traps Mariketa and fellow competitors in a cave full of incubi ghosts.  Thinking they will be able to free themselves, he goes about his business, only to find that the New Orelans Coven and Valkyries will have his head if Mariketa is not returned (this is one of my favorite Regin scenes, but there are many.)  Bowen is forced to return to the jungle to free the competitors, but civil war has broken out among the locals, trapping them there.  So yeah….Bowen + Mari + jungle caves + isolated coves = HOTNESS.  Seriously, the chemistry between these 2 is SIZZLING hot.  The story is awesome too, and I love how the series revisits the Talisman’s Hie several times from different perspectives.   But what makes this book great is the dialogue.  I had totally forgotten how great Carrow and the other witches are, and re-reading this one made me even more excited for Carrow’s book releasing August 24th!  Here are some of my favorite quotes:

Why I love Carrow:

She jerked around. MacRieve! He was dressed in new clothes, and looked showered and coolly collected. “How in the hell could you have gotten here so quickly?”

“Missed you, witch. Ran head long.  Now hang up the bloody phone.”

“Oh great Hekate, is that his voice?” Carrow cried.  “I just had an orgasm! Fudge your name tag if you have to, but you get you some of that some-some. Remember, friends let friends live vicariously–“

Click.

Why I love Mari:

“It doesn’t matter. We’re just too different.  I need a male who will get along with my friends, my witch friends, who’ll be current enough to know the difference between emo rock nd jangle pop, and who’ll be able to get me through the ice world in Zelda.”

MacRieve was no doubt speculating in what ice dimension this mysterious land of Zelda was. 

(For the record, this single sentence made me have a huge girl crush on Kresley Cole.  Some would say I am  moderately enthusiastic about all things Zelda)

And finally, why I heart Bowen:

“I’ve made a choice, lass.”  He drew back and cupped her face.  “if given the chance, I would no’  go back.  You’re mine.  And I’m going to do whatever it takes, till I’m yours as well.”

She made a frustrated sound, “Typical male! Because of what happened in the cave?”

“Aye, some.  But also because of what happened after.  We fit, you nd me, and could make a life together.  And witch”–his gaze held hers–we’re going to have a blood good time of it.”

*Swoon*…Or maybe *Spooge*.   Hmmm…no, no, it needs a new word.  Swoon + Spooge = Swooge.  Yes, this is a swooge-worthy quote. 

So yeah, that’s what I have been up to.  If you haven’t read IAD, why the hell not??  So good.  I am an elder (according to my back!) so you should respect any and all recommendations I make!  I also re-read the Dragon Kin series by GA Aiken, but more on that later.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandi
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 08:22:25

    OMG..Bowen. I LOVE him. Those quotes…oh yes. He is the best IAD! Even better than Garreth and I loved him 🙂 I think I like him so much because Mari is equally as awesome.

    Sorry you hurt your back…just wait until you turn 30 😉

    Reply

  2. MinnChica
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 10:00:46

    Bowen is by far my favorite too!! He is totally swoon worthy!!

    What else is on your reading list while your laid-up?

    Reply

  3. Kindlelicious
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 10:07:41

    Mandi–I figure by 30 I will be in a wheel chair with life alert strapped to my neck at the rate I am going. 😉

    MC–Let’s see: I read all 3 in the Dragon Kin series again (Dragon Actually, About a Dragon, What a Dragon Should Know), the first couple IAD books again, then I played some ps3, watched some ancient alien conspiracy shows on the History channel (fascinating!), and took a lot of naps on ice packs. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Fiction Vixen
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 17:03:24

    Bowen is one of my favorites. He is just NOM!! Nom I tell you!!

    Reply

  5. Jen D.
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 09:50:28

    I’m sorry to hear about your back. Mandi’s right though, wait until 30. I turned 30 this year and everyone kept telling me that I’d notice a difference. I dismissed it as crazy talk. Then all of a sudden my back pain is what wakes me up in the morning, not the alarm and all kinds of joints crack when I get out of bed. WTH? I’m trying to hold off the wheelchair until at least 35. *crosses fingers* LOL!

    You had me at ‘who’ll be able to get me through the ice world in Zelda’. I’ve had this book on my wishlist at PaperBackSwap but after reading that line I’m going to pick up a copy.

    What PS3 games are you playing?

    BTW…saw an episode of Frisky Dingo. You were right. Pure magic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

